Illinois Paid Leave for All Workers Act Goes into Effect on January 1, 2024
Starting January 1, 2024, Illinois employers must offer workers paid time off based on hours worked, with no need to explain the reason for their absence as long as they provide notice in accordance with reasonable employer standards.
Employees will accrue one hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked (up to 40 hours total), although individual employers can offer more. Employees can start using the time once they have worked for 90 days.
Illinois' law has only a few exemptions, which include:
- Seasonal workers (such as lifeguards)
- Federal employees
- College students who work non-full-time, temporary jobs for their university
There is no exemption based on the number of employees that a company may have.
Ordinances in Cook County and Chicago already require employers to offer paid sick leave, and workers in those locations will continue to be covered by the existing laws rather than the new bill.
Organizations should start making their policies and procedures now in order to prepare for this new rule. This includes preparing to track vacation hours (for those not using a service), making rules for vacation time and how many employees can be off at one time, and other situations to establish those reasonable employer standards.
The Illinois Chamber is also offering a webinar on March 16 entitled "Get Ready for It - Illinois Paid Leave Law for Employers." HCBA Members can save money on registration fees by following the instructions on https://lemontchamber.chambermaster.com/events/details/2023-illinois-chamber-webinar-get-ready-for-it-illinois-paid-leave-law-requirements-for-employers-5184.